National Climate as Told by Songs

In the light of everything that has happened over this past week, I thought it would be a great time to reflect. There are outbursts of love and pain. These outbursts sometimes escalate jeopardizing the safety of everyone. I am not one to preach my opinion; instead, I enjoy allowing others to interpret what is being said; what is not being said; what is implied. Through these songs, do not reach the surface layer. Interpret and apply. Reflect.

Do You Hear the People Sing – Les Miserables Cast

Do you hear the people sing?
Singing a song of angry men?
It is the music of a people
Who will not be slaves again!
When the beating of your heart
Echoes the beating of the drums
There is a life about to start
When tomorrow comes!

maxresdefault

Waiting on the World to Change – John Mayer

Me and all my friends
We’re all misunderstood
They say we stand for nothing and
There’s no way we ever could
Now we see everything that’s going wrong
With the world and those who lead it
We just feel like we don’t have the means
To rise above and beat it
So we keep waiting
Waiting on the world to change
We keep on waiting
Waiting on the world to change

One man can change the world

world_peace

Black or White – Michael Jackson

Protection
For gangs, clubs, and nations
Causing grief in human relations
It’s a turf war on a global scale
I’d rather hear both sides of the tale
See, it’s not about races
Just places
Faces
Where your blood comes from
Is were your space is
I’ve seen the bright get duller
I’m not going to spend my life being a color

4523229100_f440e28ca9_o

People Help the People – Birdy

People help the people
And if you’re homesick, give me your hand and I’ll hold it
People help the people
And nothing will drag you down
Oh and if I had a brain, Oh and if I had a brain
I’d be cold as a stone and rich as the fool
That turned all those good hearts away

amazing-beautiful-best-friend-birdy-Favim.com-1292459

God Help the Outcasts – Bette Midler

God help the outcasts
Hungry from birth
Show them the mercy
They don’t find on earth
The lost and forgotten
They look to You still
God help the outcasts
Or nobody will

god help the outcasts hunchback notre dame

One Man Can Change the World – Big Sean

I hope you learn to make it on your own
And if you love yourself just know you’ll never be alone
I hope that you get everything you want and that you chose
I hope that it’s the realest thing that you ever know
Hope you get the pretty girls, that’s pretty at everything
Million dollar cribs havin’ million dollar dreams
And when you get it all just remember one thing
Remember one thing
That one man could change the world
That one man could change the world

Big-Sean-One-Man-Can-Change-The-World-Music-Video-7-700x302

They Don’t Know – Rich Homie Quan

They don’t know
What I been through
They don’t know the half
They only know what I tell them

bluelives

Not Afraid – Eminem

I’m not afraid
To take a stand
Everybody
Come take my hand
We’ll walk this road together, through the storm
Whatever weather, cold or warm
Just letting you know that you’re not alone
Holler if you feel like you’ve been down the same road

8HysTBU

Wings – Little Mix

Mama told me not to waste my life,
She said spread your wings my little butterfly
Don’t let what they say keep you up at night
And they can’t detain you
‘Cause wings are made to fly
And we don’t let nobody bring us down
No matter what you say it won’t hurt me
Don’t matter if I fall from the sky
These wings are made to fly

dove-wallpaper-7

The best representation of the necessity of the world: the dove.

Peace. Grace. Love.

How I Find Bliss in Hard Times for the Nation:

  • Stay up-to-date on the news
  • Read multiple sources – no bias
  • Express thoughts with friends for insight
  • 1 Hour of music
  • 2 Prayers a day
  • An open mind
  • Acceptance
  • Thankfulness for my own privileges
  • Thankfulness for my own safety

3 thoughts on “National Climate as Told by Songs

  1. This was a creative way to look at what’s going on all around us. “God Help The Outcasts” always made me teary eyed and a little sad, even when I didn’t know all the words back then. It still moves me now when I hear it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is nice! 🙂 it’s a new for me and really creative! Only if people look deep within the lyrics of the songs, they’ll know what’s going on! Thanks for this! God bless 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

