Who Are You?

I am not sure about you guys, but I am obsessed with reading my horoscope and attributions according to my zodiac sign. In my head, I understand the vagueness of the terms applied are the reason they become so believable, but it is still fascinating to put words to myself.
tumblr_m4lqd8g0h71r0nkq2o1_500

When I was younger, one of my favorite things to do was to take a personality quiz. In my head, I believed that this quiz had the ability to read the type of person I am, and simply, tell me who I am. Of course, at a young age, I thought I knew who I was; I just could not form words together in order to describe myself.

As I was older and started dating, one of my favorite things in a relationship is hearing how your partner describes you. I loved knowing they knew who I was, but I was also intrigued to hear things about myself that I never noticed. I became more informed of my actions and personality.

Finally, a little older, here I am, reading zodiac posts believing that the stars and earth powers can tell me who I am. Who am I? What am I like?

According to my sign, Scorpio, I should be a heartless black soul that gets annoyed at everyone and everything. That is not too far off; however, I know that there are plenty of times the description did not fit my personality at all.

scorpiosymbol-font

Astrology is a strange thing in that everyone can relate, and the more connection you feel with your sign, the more likely you are going to believe that what you are being told is true. When you feel an attachment to something, it is substantially easier to make yourself relate to it. This is seen most clearly with a favored celebrity endorsing a product. Kylie Jenner uses that? If she uses that, I need to get that.

original

If I read something about a Scorpio being super charming and bubbly, I would believe it – which if you know me well enough, it is not necessarily true. Why? There are so many emotions and personalities. Do we not experience a variety of emotions and personalities on a daily basis? Are we not sometimes happy and bubbly but other days cold and discreet?

I think that may be the trick behind the gullibility of people falling for the zodiac signs. We are already having a hard enough time trying to figure out who we are and our purpose in this world. There is constant change overwhelming each of us on a daily basis. Life would be easy if we had one personality with every single person, every single day, and there was no change; however, that is not life. We read zodiac traits in hope that we figure out who we are and what good we can do in the world. When really, all we are doing is trying to give ourselves a new name – a new identity.

black-and-white-blackandwhite-boy-draw-Favim.com-1117146

We are told from birth to be the best version of ourselves; to always do good; always tell the truth; be this way; be that way. We want to be in control of our way. We want to understand ourselves. Is it not hard enough trying to tell if your friend/partner/family member is mad at something you did or just having a bad day?

According to media, we cannot be happy with others until we are happy with ourselves. We want those words to be put to our name; we want that quiz to tell us our attributes; we want that lover to tell us what we are like; and we want zodiac signs to tell us who we are.

We are searching. We will always be searching. It is time to have a discussion with ourselves before we trust air and water to tell us who we are.

Who are you?

How I Figure Out Who I Am:

  • 1 List of Goals
  • 10 Commandments
  • 1 Conscious
  • 2 Cups of Fruit
Leave a Reply

