Nightscare

Courtesy of the Daily Post.

Think back to the last time you had that startling dream where you are on the verge of sleep and alertness. This dream is the falling dream. You are lying peacefully in bed trying to catch some z’s before the next day’s adventure, when next thing you know, you are jerked awake and your heart is pounding. Unsure of what exactly happened, you rethink. You were standing on a ledge of a building, because that is what normal people do, and you began falling (there are multiple variations of this dream).

dream_about_falling_down_by_bucz

Now, remember that last second before you hit the ground? You did not hit the ground. You cannot remember hitting the ground.
tumblr_nugmthZsjc1sok6eao1_500

It was a scare. Why? Theorists say that when you hit the ground, it means you are dead – physically. That is why in our dreams, we are never able to die. If we die in our dream, we are dead in real life. Some theorists also state that the falling dream is due to the body and mind not aligning properly causing the body to be “floating” while the mind is alert. The body then comes back down to align with the mind causing the falling dream.

Favim.com-32083

More information can be found here.

That is one example of a nightscare – not nightmare. The difference between a nightscare and a nightmare is that you are shaken, not scarred. Although it was heart-pounding scary, you are alive and will soon forget it. An alarm clock in the morning can reciprocate the same heart-pounding feeling. You are scared, not scarred.

The scariest of all the nightscares, to me, is the concept of time. Time keeps moving; the world does not stop for anyone. I think about all my memories. Those memories feel like yesterday, but years could have passed. That best friend that you did everything with is someone you may not stay in contact with anymore, yet you remember every laugh, every inside joke, and every moment with them. That lover that you thought would never go away is suddenly gone. You can still feel their touch and hear their voice, but months have passed by. That family member that always put a smile on your face is suddenly gone. You can remember that one sentence that you began to claim was her tagline, but they are not available to joke with anymore.

tumblr_n63d6eNLxA1ttoe3jo1_500

All those moments are gone. Time keeps moving; the world does not stop for anyone. Is that not terrifying? Knowing that every moment you are living in right now will soon be a past memory. Things can change in the blink of an eye. Before you know it, that cherished place, person will be gone. Your life keeps moving forward with or without them.

tumblr_n9zdqy2EA51sirakso1_500

When I was younger, I did not realize those would be the last moments I had of feeling stress-free. Time keeps moving; the world does not stop for anyone. Being young in middle school and junior high seems like ages ago. In those times, you did not have to worry about getting accepted to a college, finding a job, or supporting a family. All that you had to worry about was making friends, and, of course, try your best to learn. Grades were serious but not nearly as serious as they are in high school and college. The most stress that came from those years were making the sports team or talking to your crush. This figment that we call “adult life” had not hit us. We were care-free living at the fullest. Although we are able to live care-free in the present, you really cannot. You have a house that has bills to pay or a family that needs you. When you were younger, your parents worried about those things. That is why you were a dependent. You were dependent on them. They carried your stress.

alternative-amzing-awesome-beautiful-Favim.com-1447906

Do not forget what it is like to go back to your favorite memories. Time keeps moving; the world does not stop for anyone. Live in the moment before the time passes. Lukas Graham states it best. The true nightmare is breathing in the present while searching for the future, and suddenly, the time is gone. You cannot go back to relive it.

Once I was seven years old my momma told me
Go make yourself some friends or you’ll be lonely
Once I was seven years old

It was a big big world, but we thought we were bigger
Pushing each other to the limits, we were learning quicker
By eleven smoking herb and drinking burning liquor
Never rich so we were out to make that steady figure

Once I was eleven years old my daddy told me
Go get yourself a wife or you’ll be lonely
Once I was eleven years old

I always had that dream like my daddy before me
So I started writing songs, I started writing stories
Something about that glory just always seemed to bore me
‘Cause only those I really love will ever really know me

Once I was twenty years old, my story got told
Before the morning sun, when life was lonely
Once I was twenty years old

I only see my goals, I don’t believe in failure
‘Cause I know the smallest voices, they can make it major
I got my boys with me at least those in favor
And if we don’t meet before I leave, I hope I’ll see you later

Once I was twenty years old, my story got told
I was writing about everything, I saw before me
Once I was twenty years old
Soon we’ll be thirty years old, our songs have been sold
We’ve traveled around the world and we’re still roaming
Soon we’ll be thirty years old

I’m still learning about life
My woman brought children for me
So I can sing them all my songs
And I can tell them stories
Most of my boys are with me
Some are still out seeking glory
And some I had to leave behind
My brother I’m still sorry

Soon I’ll be sixty years old, my daddy got sixty-one
Remember life and then your life becomes a better one
I made a man so happy when I wrote a letter once
I hope my children come and visit, once or twice a month

Soon I’ll be sixty years old, will I think the world is cold
Or will I have a lot of children who can warm me
Soon I’ll be sixty years old
Soon I’ll be sixty years old, will I think the world is cold
Or will I have a lot of children who can warm me
Soon I’ll be sixty years old

Once I was seven years old, momma told me
Go make yourself some friends or you’ll be lonely
Once I was seven years old

friends

Once I was seven years old

quote7

How I Stop Time:

  • Capture the moments
  • Live in the moment
  • Listen to them
  • Associate a song with a favorite moment
  • Deep breathes
Leave a Reply

