Winter

This post makes absolutely no sense: hey, Cameron.

So after browsing through my Facebook feed, I came across a song that is absolutely astounding. Demi Lovato’s Stone Cold demonstrates her phenomenal vocal range through this chilling song.

The lyrics and link are below:

Stone cold, stone cold
You see me standing, but I’m dying on the floor
Stone cold, stone cold
Maybe if I don’t cry, I won’t feel anymore

Stone cold, baby
God knows I tried to feel
Happy for you
Know that I am, even if I
Can’t understand, I’ll take the pain
Give me the truth, me and my heart
We’ll make it through
If happy is her, I’m happy for you

Stone cold, stone cold
You’re dancing with her, while I’m staring at my phone
Stone cold, stone cold
I was your amber, but now she’s your shade of gold

Stone cold, baby
God knows I tried to feel
Happy for you
Know that I am, even if I
Can’t understand, I’ll take the pain
Give me the truth, me and my heart
We’ll make it through
If happy is her, I’m happy for you

Lovato’s music video reminded me of the winter which reminded me of the beauty that season holds.

tumblr_nfx8qwWnPb1skyxgpo1_500

Winter is often associated with three things: Christmas, sadness (like Lovato’s video), and love. It is ironic to see those two things contradicting but sharing the same season. Love and sadness usually do not affiliate with one another at the same time; however, ’tis the season!

The cold and bitterness of winter draws lovers to need warmth, share cuddles, and hot chocolate. On the other hand, the cold and bitterness of winter also draws out a mystic beauty that identifies a cold heart and cold temperature which fuels sadness.

However, what needs to be the first thought associated with winter is beauty.

tumblr_nq01giusiZ1t19jpho1_500

The snow following and landing softly on the branches of bare trees.
tumblr_nyoo6esu1X1t19jpho1_500

The snow being the silent beauty that creeps in. Serenity.

The snow that causes goosebumps to rise followed by deep, slow breaths.. inhale.. exhale..

tumblr_n8opousnEr1t19jpho1_500

The snow that prefers downtowns – glimmering synchronously with the lights that are the only source to view the majesty.

tumblr_luogslRa0B1qha75vo1_500

The snow that laces upon our hands and quickly disappears. The cold catch that still fascinates us 10, 20, 30 years later.

tumblr_my4z4uR0ME1rfg112o1_500

And this is a cute picture of a fawn. There is snow in the background, so I am pretty sure it relates.

Winter is a time for dwelling inside to enjoy time with friends and family, but it is also the time to adventure into the glorious, natural phenomenon that God has gifted the earth with.

So the two points of this random post that makes about 13.2 sense…

1 – Demi Lovato’s Stone Cold song is amazing and worth the listen

2 – Winter (snow)  is a beautiful time of year that gets lost in Christmas spirit

How I Enjoy Winter:

  • Sledding down hills
  • Watching snow fall
  • Drinking hot chocolate by the warm fire
  • Laughing with friends

 

3 thoughts on “Winter

Leave a Reply

