You Should Just Lick A Toilet Seat

So, I recently got pretty sick to where I was in bed for three days straight suffering from a fever ranging from 102 to 104 degrees Fahrenheit. I was curious on how I got sick out of the blue. I did not eat or drink out of the ordinary nor go any new place. Was it from the gym? Did I not get enough sleep? Or was it from my phone?

18-times-more@2x

Yup. I mean it. My phone could have been the cause of my illness! While there are no facts supporting this claim, cell phones can carry harmful bacteria like influenza.

I’m writing this piece to basically say, “CLEAN YOUR PHONE and quit being a nasty.”

The facts:

Our phones have more than 25,000 germs per square inch. Some of those unwanted visitors include:

  • Staph
  • Strep
  • Sinusitis
  • Bacillus (found in the outdoors like dirt)
  • Staphylococcus aureus (which can cause internal infections and is resistant to many antibiotics)
  • Toxic shock syndrome
  • E. coli

phopne-bactirea-1

How you attract bacteria:

  • Putting your phone in warm places like your hands, pocket or purse.
  • Laying your phone on any surface.
  • Touching pets and touching your phone.
  • Handling your phone when sweaty.
  • Using your phone after eating.
  • Using your phone on the toilet.
  • Handing your phone to other people, especially if that person is sick.
  • Literally anything.

how-does-it-dirty@2x.jpg

Things that are cleaner than your phone:

This section grosses me out because I know I am likely to use a paper towel or leg when opening public doors, but the very thing I carry everywhere is dirtier than any public property.

  • Toilet seat
  • Toilet handle
  • Kitchen counter
  • Pet food dish
  • Check-out screen at a retailer
  • Public and private door knobs
  • Shoe soles
  • Just a bunch of notes
  • Money
  • Laundromats
  • Computer keyboard
  • Soap dispensers and bar soap

tenor (1)

How to kill the germs:

There are tons of different options to clean your phone. They range in price and level of cleanliness; however, anything is better than leaving your phone drowning in disgusting bacteria.

  • Soap and water – economically and theoretically efficient.
  • Sanitizing wipes – more expensive but effective for killing germs.
  • Spray and wipe – similar to the sanitizing wipes but not individually wrapped.
  • UV phone cleaner – proven to kill the most bacteria on a cell phone, but they don’t come as cheap as soap and water.

PHONESOAP_CELL_PHONE_CHARGER_UV_SANITIZER_003

Keep your phone clean to keep yourself healthy.

giphy (5)

How I Keep Myself Healthy:
1 phone cleaning a day
Never use my phone in the bathroom
Always wash my hands after eating

 

Citations:

The Health Site

BuzzFeed

PhoneSoap

Mashable

Cracked
Leave a Reply

